Commendations for long-listed story writers in 2015 Prize

In addition to choosing six finalists and their winner, the judges of this year's Manchester Fiction Prize - Nicholas Royle, Stuart Kelly and Leone Ross - were so impressed by the overall quality and variety of the entries they read that they have published a list of "highly commended" entrants. These writers submitted excellent work that made it through to the judges final deliberations but just missed on a hotly-contested place in the top six. The long-listed entrants and stories are:

Jane Alexander: The Red Thread

Erin Andrea: Loop 419

Erin Andrea: The Suicidal Violinists

Jane Archer: Time and Space

Joe Bedford: Le Petit Robert

Chris Connolly: There's No-one New Around You

Christina Craigo: Just After Dinner

Louise Dean: Theives Are Operating

R. J. Dyar: Day One of Eternity

Jane Fraser: Chasing the Shadow

Jane Fraser: There You Go     

Jane Fraser: The South-Westerlies

Nicole Fix: We Would Call Him Sir

Nicholas Gibbon: Back Home Early

Nicholas Gibbon: Man in the Woods

Rhoda Greaves: Visiting Dad

Tom Greenway: Oysters

Phil Griffin: Jud

Nick Hamilton: Terror

Giselle Leeb: Blank

Alastair James Magness: Albatross

Anna Metcalfe: Upon Leaving

M. D. Meyer: Fortunate

Peter Justin Newall: The Yellow Wasp

Anne O'Brien: I Could Have Been Anything

Sally Olding: Paper

Horatio Potter: Love Machine

Wayne Price: The Girlfriends

Karina Lickorish Quinn: Oogenesis

Mark Reece: Dangerous Objects

Fiona Rintoul: A Proper Hill

Duncan Ross: Roll of Honour

Shanna Streich: A Given Circumstance

Michela Tamma: Voyage

Natalia Theodoridou: Grupa Kumulacija: A Durational Interview

Eve Turner: Terminus

Jon Wilks: The Boy Who Hated Cigarettes

Isabel R. Zuniga: On Tiptoe

Congratulations to you all! The £10,000 2016 Manchester Fiction and Poetry Prizes are now open to entries. For full details, and to enter online, visit: