Manchester Fiction Prize judges congratulate short story writers

In addition to choosing six finalists and their winner, the judges of this year's Manchester Fiction Prize - Nicholas Royle, Janice Galloway and Juliet Pickering - were so impressed by the overall quality and variety of the entries they read that they have published a list of "highly commended" entrants. These writers submitted excellent work that made it through to the judges final deliberations but just missed on a hotly-contested place in the top six. The long-listed entrants and stories are:

Jennifer Bailey : Messaging

F. E . Brinkley : Menarche

P. Kearney Byrne : All Cock & No Balls

Neil Campbell : Roy’s Story

Naomi Frisby : The Bodies

Dean Gessie : Cicada

Lars Guthorm Kavli : Mother Dying

Margi Hatjoullis : Lost Property

Sally Jubb : Somewhere After Leopardi

Nathalie Kernot : The Handling

Hilary Key : Peace at Last

Sumana Khan : Eclipse

William Konarzewski : The Gold Amati

Louise Mangos  :  Exposing Nadia

Khadija Rouf : Mr Magic

Michael Thompson : Rope

Congratulations to you all!

For information about the short-list, and the award cewremony, visit: