The winners of the Manchester Writing Competition 2016 have been announced, with poets Dante Di Stefano and Rebecca Tamás sharing the £10,000 Manchester Poetry Prize, and D. W. Wilson winning the £10,000 Manchester Fiction Prize.

D. W. Wilson submitted the short story All This Concrete Beneath Your Feet. (A man and his young son drive down the Alaskan Highway. Motels, diners and Mounties. What are they running from and where will they end up?)

He said: "I'd like to thank the judges, The Manchester Writing School, all the overworked readers, and, of course, everyone who loves the short story form. Writing is a solitary act, and rarely can writers know if what we're doing is worthwhile, so prizes like these are especially important.

“They give validation, they give reassurance: yes, they say, you're doing something right. Keep going."

Poets Dante Di Stefano and Rebecca Tamás each won £5,000.

Dante submitted three poems: 'Verrückt'; 'Reading Dostoyevsky at Seventeen'; and 'Reading Rilke in Early Autumn'.

He said: "I would like to express my gratitude and appreciation to Dame Carol Ann Duffy and to the faculty and staff of The Manchester Writing School for initiating and maintaining a literary award series such as this one.

“Thank you, as well, to James Draper for his administrative acumen and for his warm and professional correspondences regarding the awards process. Thank you, especially, to the judges, Adam O’ Riordan, Sarah Howe, and Helen Mort, for the careful attention they spent sifting through thousands of poems, and for the affinities of taste and of experience that drew them to my work.

“Finally, thanks to my fellow shortlisted poets for the excellent poetry they put into conversation with my own: Eric Berlin, Sakinah Hofler, Rebecca Tamás, Ruth Tang, and Eoghan Walls.  I extend to you, all, my brotherhood and best wishes from across the Atlantic in the hard-fought duende and earned communion of poetry.”

Rebecca submitted five poems: 'Julian of Norwich'; 'Theresa of Ãvila'; 'Hildegard of Bingen'; 'Simone Weil'; and 'Marguerite Porete'.

The winners of this year’s £10,000 Manchester Poetry and Fiction Prizes were revealed at a gala ceremony in the medieval Baronial Hall at Chetham's Library in Manchester city centre.


The 2016 Fiction Prize was judged by Nicholas Royle, Janice Galloway and Juliet Pickering and the Poetry Prize by Adam O'Riordan, Sarah Howe and Helen Mort.


Information for Editors:


The Manchester Writing Competition was devised by Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy and is run by her team in the Manchester Writing School at Manchester Metropolitan University: Presented in partnership with Manchester Literature Festival and sponsored by Macdonald Hotels and Resorts.


The copyright in each story and poem submitted remains with its author.


If you have any queries, or would like any further information, about the Manchester Writing Competition, please contact; +44 (0) 161 247 1787.


Press enquiries: Chris Morris: ; +44 (0) 161 247 2184. The judges and finalists are all available for interview.


The 2017 Manchester Poetry and Fiction Prizes will open to entries in January 2017: We are looking to build relationships and explore opportunities with sponsors and partners, so please get in touch:; +44 (0) 161 247 1787.